Days 64 – 70 (Project 365)

Day 70 – June 20, 2014

Texture

So I am lagging on the updates. No excuse except to share that I am taking a Black and White photography class at my local college, and homework has been getting in the way of taking my daily photo. But better late than never. Our first assignment was to show texture, so this is one of the shots I turned in. It is the back of my bench that sits out at my front door. I actually got to develop the negatives and print out 8 X 10’s in the darkroom all by myself. It is so cool. I was a little overwhelmed by all the steps in the darkroom but I think I know what I am doing now.

ISO 100 | f/11 | SS 1/40 | 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/11 | SS 1/40 | 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 69 – June 16, 2014

Back To School


It’s an exciting day for me as I head back to school for the first time in a long time. I start my Black & White Film class at a local college tonight. Here’s hoping I am not too old to keep up lol.

ISO 800 | f/4.5 | SS 1/50 | 29mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 800 | f/4.5 | SS 1/50 | 29mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 68 – June 15, 2014

Ryder

I spent yesterday afternoon shooting my son, his girlfriend and her 4-yr old son. It was fun afternoon and my second portrait shoot. I still have a lot to learn when it comes to lighting and settings, but you live and you learn. Here is 4-yr old Ryder hamming it up for the camera.

ISO 160 | f/2.8 | SS 1/80 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 160 | f/2.8 | SS 1/80 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 67 – June 14, 2014

Rose Of Sharon

This Rose of Sharon bush is in full bloom in my backyard. It is so pretty. I decided to play around with some of the effects they offer in PicMonkey, and I kind of like this frosted look for this photograph.

ISO 800 | f/9 | SS 1/320 | 55mm(click photo to enlarge)

ISO 800 | f/9 | SS 1/320 | 55mm(click photo to enlarge)

Day 66 – June 13, 2014

Morning Butterfly

This butterfly was at the top of my butterfly bush this morning (the bush is about 7-8 ft tall) so I climbed on a chair with my 75-300mm lens and zoomed in. Also cropped the photo to see more of the butterfly and less of the dying butterfly flower it was on…lol. I wish it had been feeding on a lower branch so I could have used my macro filters. Anyway, I like that I can see its eye looking at me. It’s probably thinking to itself “what is this crazy lady doing standing on a chair” lol

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1,250 | 220mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1,250 | 220mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 65 – June 12, 2014

Three Little Boys…..

I love this statue at Mojave Narrows. I think it is in Memorium of Victorville matriarch Jean Campbell DeBlasis. I should have paid more attention to the sign by it. I like how in this photo the statue is almost a silhouette, with the landscape lit up behind it.

ISO 100 | f/9 | SS 1/200 | 75mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/9 | SS 1/200 | 75mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 64 – June 11, 2014

Bed Head

My two-year old grand-daughter Kenley with her messy hair is my photo of the day. Trying to shoot her is always such a challenge because she never sits still lol. She always manages to make me smile though and she is one crazy kid 🙂

ISO 200 | f/1.8 | SS 1/125 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 200 | f/1.8 | SS 1/125 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

