Getting My Kicks On Route 66

I took myself on my own little road trip this morning through Oro Grande. I was going in search of Elmer’s Bottle Farm (what a delightful place to photograph).  I also found some other neat places to shoot on the way home. All in all I would call it a successful day.

ANTIQUE STATION – ORO GRANDE, CALIFORNIA

The Antique Station is a great antique store in the High Desert.  This place doesn’t look that big from the outside, but it is huge inside with lots of wonderful antiques for sale.  You can spend a lot of time in here perusing the aisles.

og1

og2

og3

 

MOHAWK GAS STATION – ORO GRANDE, CALIFORNIA

I don’t know the history on this gas station, but it stands forlorn and abandoned on National Trails Highway.  I love the old nostalgic feel of the place.  If you close your eyes, you can almost imagine what it was like in its hey day.

og5

 

og4

 

CROSS EYED COW PIZZA – ORO GRANDE, CALIFORNIA

This pizza joint has the BEST pizza in the High Desert.  Their pizza is truly yummy, and the inside of the restaurant is fun to see.  They have lots of neat decorations – like an airplane wing for a counter, knives standing up along the top of all their booths, hay buckets for chandeliers and more.  It is definitely worth a visit.

og6

 

OLD RUN DOWN HOUSE – ORO GRANDE, CALIFORNIA

This house and tank sit off of National Trail Highway.  I don;t know who owns it, the house is all boarded up.  I love the feel of the place and would be great to use in a  photo shoot.

og7

 

ELMER’S BOTTLE TREE RANCH – ORO GRANDE, CALIFORNIA

What can I say about this wonderful place that has not already been said?  It is truly a magnificent work of art – magical, interesting and unique.  It sits off of National Trails Highway between Victorville and Barstow.  I got to meet the owners Elmer and Linda, and what very nice people they are.  I could have stood and spoken with them all day because they had a lot of stories to tell.  If you get the chance to go out there, take the time – it is definitely worth it.

og9

og10

og11

 

og12

 

 

og13

og14

Leave a Reply

