Days 36 – 42 (Project 365)

Day 42 – May 20, 2014

When Insomnia Strikes…..

When insomnia strikes you get up out of bed, photograph a daisy, add a quote and make it your photo of the day. And hope that your short little project is enough to make you sleepy so you can go back to bed. Night All…I mean Morning All 🙂

ISO 1600 | f/5.6 | SS 1/125 | 21mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 1600 | f/5.6 | SS 1/125 | 21mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 41 – – May 19, 2014

Shadow and Light

I turned this shot into a black and white because I like the starkness of his wings and tail, with the light shining through.

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/1,250 | 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/1,250 | 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

Orange Cactus Flower

My husband bought me a small cactus at the grocery store, and it had an orange bulbous looking flower on the top of it. I don’t know the name as it had no tag. I love how all the buds look like little bugs with antennas. It made for an interesting close up.

ISO 1600 | f/5.6 | SS 1/50 | 33mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 1600 | f/5.6 | SS 1/50 | 33mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 39 – May 17, 2014

Lizard Rock

While out looking for the faces in the rocks today, we stumbled across a huge lizard sunning himself on a very large rock. He was at least a foot in length. It was the biggest lizard I have seen in the wild, and he was truly beautiful. I have since learned that he is a Chuckwalla 🙂

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/1000 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/1000 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 38 – May 16, 2014

Butterfly Bush

Happy Friday everyone. The photo is up early today as I am going to a funeral this afternoon and won’t have time to take one later. So here is a photo of the beautiful butterfly bush at my front door. I love the lavender color, and it is in full bloom. It is supposed to attract the butterflies but I have yet to see one on it this season. I’m hoping they show up so I can catch a photo of them. There was a beautiful yellow monarch on it a few years back that I have a photo of someplace. So who knows I may get lucky again…just have to be in the right place at the right time, with camera in hand. Hope everyone has a great weekend.

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | 1/125 | 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | 1/125 | 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 37 – May 15, 2014

Best Friends

I decided to mix it up today and veer away from my normal nature shot, and try a portrait. I got a new prime lens so I needed to put it to use and try it out. My 4-year-old grandson “Cole” and his best friend “Allie” were willing models 🙂

ISO 100 | f/4 | SS 1/125 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/4 | SS 1/125 | 50mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 36 – May 14, 2014

At Peace….

It’s been one of those days where I have been uninspired and didn’t get the camera out, so rather than leave you with nothing I am going to share another of my favorite photos that I took last year while visiting my folks in Scotland.  This little piece of paradise is called Smeaton Lake in the town of East Linton.  It is a beautiful quiet little place surrounded by ferns and rhododendrons.  Oh how I wish to be back there 🙂

ISO 100 | f/5 | SS 1/60 | 28mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5 | SS 1/60 | 28mm (click photo to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

