Days 22 – 28 (Project 365)

Day 28 – May 6, 2014

Starburst

My photo is late today, but better late than never. We took a jeep ride through the desert late this afternoon. I had fun playing with my star filter as the sun set over the desert.

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/400 | 120mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | SS 1/400 | 120mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 27 – May 5, 2014

Watercolor Flowers

Well its an eventful day here in the High Desert – extremely windy, major accidents, bridge on fire, 15 freeway at a total standstill…I think I will stay safe at home. So my focus is back on the flowers I got at the Farmer’s Market because they are so beautiful and fun to shoot. Giving myself some practice using the auto focus points and think I am finally getting the hang of it. I love the colors in this photo, almost looks like the petals are painted.

ISO 800 | f/5.6 | SS 1/25 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 800 | f/5.6 | SS 1/25 55mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 26 – May 4, 2014

Teacups & Roses

This is my interpretation of “Still Life”. I combined two of my favorite things – teacups and roses.

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | SS 1/100 | 53mm (cick photo to enlarge)

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | SS 1/100 | 53mm (cick photo to enlarge)

Day 25 – May 3, 2014

Shoo Cat Shoo

It’s hard not to make the mockingbird my daily photo, as he keeps positioning himself in areas that just scream “photograph me”. Here he is hanging off the side of the tree, and yes he is still yelling at my cat to get out of “his” yard 🙂

mockingbird2

Day 24 – May 2, 2014

Fading Flower

As the life in my bouquet of flowers comes to an end, the strawflower wilts and its leaves are turning a golden shade of brown. With the flower dangling upside down, it made for some interesting composition. I love how the leaves go from a dark to a light color, almost like a reverse ombre effect. And from in focus to blurry. This is probably one of my favorite photos.

ISO 2000 | f/4 | SS 1/50 | 28mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 2000 | f/4 | SS 1/50 | 28mm (click photo to enlarge)

Day 23 – May 1, 2014

Fierce Protector

Good Morning – it has been brought to my attention that when I add in my photos to an existing post (for example adding the daily photo into the album Days 22-28 (Project 365), that followers of my blog do NOT get updates. So many of you don’t know that there is a new photo to view. The only way around this is to create a new post each day so you see the photo. I guess at the end of the week, I will then put the photos into the album they belong in. I don’t know any other way around it. If you are a WordPress pro and know some ins and outs, please let me know…lol.

Anyway, onto the photo of the day. I have a mockingbird nest in my front yard and it is being aggressively protected by the daddy bird. My poor cat cannot set foot anywhere in the front yard without being dive-bombed, followed and squawked at. It is a funny site to see her running across the yard, with a small bird charging at her. Mr Mockingbird paused long enough for me on this old tree stump to capture this shot. It’s not perfectly clear but I am happy I got it because he’s really fast.

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | SS 1/800 | 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | SS 1/800 | 300mm (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 22 – April 30, 2014

Running The Bases

I am using this shot from my grandson Cameron’s Little League game last night.  He played awesome, even caught a “fly ball” in the outfield, but I really love this shot.  It has a sense of movement and determination in it.  I like how his movement is frozen in time , and his shadow reflecting the same movement is on the ground.

ISO 250 | f/5.6 | SS 1/2,000  | 300mm

ISO 250 | f/5.6 | SS 1/2,000 | 300mm

2 thoughts on “Days 22 – 28 (Project 365)

Leave a Reply

