Days 1- 7 (Project 365)

Day 7 – April 15, 2014

The Hawk

Today we took a “spur of the moment” trip up to Wrightwood.  I found some cute little lizards to play with and photograph (lizard photos to follow soon).  But my prize photo of the day was this beautiful Red Tailed Hawk.  We got very lucky on the timing.  As we came down the road, he was removing a dead squirrel from the roadway, dragging it across the road with his talons.  We pulled up right next to him and I managed to roll my window down and snap three quick photos before he flew away.  He circled above us, landed on a couple of trees and finally flew away leaving his dinner behind.  I am so happy that we got so close to him, and I was able to see this beautiful creature up close.  It certainly made my day.

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | 1/1,600 (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 3200 | f/5.6 | 1/1,600 (click photo to enlarge)

Day 6 – April 14, 2014

Buzzy Bee

It is spring time, and the birds and bees are out in full force.  My plan was to shoot the flower bush as you walk up my front pathway.  I am trying out the macro filters again and thought these little pink flowers would be a great subject.  Mr Bee decided to put an appearance in my shot.  I didn’t even realize he was there until I uploaded the photo…lol.  He is a little blurry but that’s because my main focus was on the flowers.

ISO 2500 | f/5.6 | 1/800 (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 2500 | f/5.6 | 1/800 (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 5 – April 13, 2014

Fading Hearts

These hearts are part of an old wind chime hanging at my front door.  They are getting weatherbeaten and are falling apart….it is almost time to take them down.  But I do like seeing and hearing them when I walk out the front door.  They were also a gift from my ailing mother-in-law and they remind me of her.  I love the way that the photo came out looking like a painting.

ISO 2000 | f/4.5 | 1/2,000 (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 2000 | f/4.5 | 1/2,000 (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 4 – April 12, 2014

The Pouncer

My cat Tallee was sitting in wait this morning, ready to pounce n some unsuspecting little bird and have it for breakfast.  Unfortunately for her, I foiled her plans lol.  I love the look of focus and determination I captured in her eyes.

ISO 3200 | f/5 | 1/1,600 (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 3200 | f/5 | 1/1,600 (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 3 – April 11, 2014

Box Of Buttons

I received my new macro filters in the mail today and decided to play around with them.  I have come to the conclusion that I have a lot to learn about them.  This photo was taken using the +1, +2 and +4 filters.  I had a hard time adjusting the focus, and sometimes the photo simply would not take.  I have since learned that the lens needs to be on manual instead of autofocus and it works a whole lot better. But we learn from our mistakes….upwards and onwards.

ISO 1600 | f/4.5 | 1/60 (click photo to enlarge)

ISO 1600 | f/4.5 | 1/60 (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 2 – April 10, 2014

The Rose

I was playing around with my manual settings rather than shooting on Auto like I normally.  I took quite a few bad shots before I came up with this one I was happy with and could share with you all.

ISO 100 | f/10 | 1/125 (click photo to enlarge)

 

Day 1 – April 9, 2014

Pull Up A Chair

My mother-in-law has this old weather-beaten chair sitting in her driveway, next to an old dead tree.  It caught my attention in a macabre sort of way.  The oldness and deadness of both chair and tree remind me of the fact that as we grow older, dying is something we must all ultimately face.  I shot it in color, but decided this photo needed to be black and white in all its glory.

Click photo to enlarge

ISO 3200 | f/16 | 1/15 (click photo to enlarge)

3 thoughts on “Days 1- 7 (Project 365)

Leave a Reply

